Due to the public health threat of COVID-19, Town of South Bethany public buildings are closed to the public through May 15, 2020, and the beaches within the Town shall be CLOSED for ALL purposes. Our staff is available via telephone or email during normal business hours to answer questions and provide needed services. There is no disruption in Police Department service. More Info

Election Info


Charter §C-5 Town Council

The South Bethany 2020 Election will be held at Town Hall, 402 Evergreen Road, South Bethany, Delaware on Saturday, May 23, 2020, from 9am – 3pm.

Positions Open
One (1) Mayor and Three (3) Town Council Members shall be elected. All seats are for a two-year term. Terms will begin on May 30, 2020.

Applications for Candidacy are available beginning March 9, 2020, and must be filed no later than 4:30 p.m. on Wednesday, April 8, 2020. Applications are available at Town Hall, via e-mail to townhall@southbethany.org, or by calling (302) 539-3653.


General qualifications. A candidate for the office of Town Councilmember or Mayor shall be:

  • a natural person at least twenty-one (21) years of age;
  • a citizen of the United States;
  • otherwise qualified to vote at the annual municipal election as provided in Charter §C-6A;
  • shall not have been convicted of a felony or a crime of moral turpitude;
  • Must be eligible to serve as a “Resident” or “Nonresident” member, as noted below.

Resident/Nonresident Members
Mayor. In addition to the above, a candidate for the office of Mayor shall qualify as a “resident” of the Town, as that term is defined in Charter §C-6A(1)(d)(3) and shall remain a resident of the Town throughout his/her term of office.

Town Councilmembers (3 vacancies). The Town Charter provides that at least four of the seven members of the Town Council (which includes the Mayor) must be residents of the town, but all may be residents of the Town. Based upon the current composition of Town Council, and the Mayor’s residency requirement, each of the three (3) Councilmember seats up for election may be filled by either a Resident, or a Nonresident freeholder.

Please see Charter §C-5(2)(a) and (b) for definitions of and qualifications to serve as “Resident Members” and “Nonresident members.” Any questions regarding status or qualifications should be directed to the Town Manager on or before April 8, 2020.

Each Councilmember shall continue, throughout his/her term of office, to be either a resident or nonresident freeholder as described above.

Sections C-5 and C-6 of the Town Charter may be found at https://www.ecode360.com/8879203

Information regarding Town Council and other matters regarding the Town may be found at https://southbethany.delaware.gov



Sally Baker
8 N 5th Street

Bonnie Rae
131 Anchorage

Donna Farrow
307 W. 1st Street


Pat Spangler
143 Bayshore Drive

Jane Bonbright
139 Brandywine Drive

John Stefani
6 N 3rd Street